Of Anxiety, Shame & Windex.

So it’s the end of the workday. I’m feeling anxious and hypersensitive — a state not caused but no doubt exacerbated by having had too much coffee.

Shamefully typical.

I’ve just bought a six pack of Labatt Ice, a lighter, and another carton of smokes, damning myself for buying the cigarettes because I told myself, fucking told myself that after the previous carton I was going to focus on transitioning to vaping instead.

Still unhealthy: yes, admittedly. Nonetheless: relatively healthier, or so I’ve surmised.

Exiting Circle K, I walk stiffly between a big ass van that’s parked beside me and enter the truck. Just as I’m shutting the door, I hear a familiar, kind of sexy voice.

“Small world.”

“Hey,” I say, turning my head to my left, still caught up in my anxiety and self-loathing as I look towards the girl sitting in the passenger seat of the van.

That’s when terror strikes me.

I don’t know if it’s my anxiety-riddled brain, the darkness of her van, the darkness of the truck, the dirty, scummy, honestly revolting driver-side window of mine or some utterly catastrophic cocktail of all the aforementioned elements, but I can’t for the life of me make out her face.

Oh no. Oh fuck.

“I see you everywhere now,” she says.

I know that voice. Even the bit of body language I can pick up. She’s attractive, I ascertain that much, but that’s the length of it. How can I be so blind?

Is it my anxiety? The dirty window? Or is the dirty window just a metaphor?

I don’t want to ask her who she is, though, as that would make me seem like a total asshole. So I struggle. Juggling other potential responses and trying to see her face simultaneously.

Times passes. In retrospect, I realize: too much time.

That’s when I realize I’ve just been staring at her for an uncomfortably long time like a dumb-ass deer hypnotized by the headlights of a semi speeding towards my pathetic, utterly alien self — inviting an impact destined to decimate anything left of my fragile self-image.

“Have a good night,” she says, sweetly, and I somehow sense mercifully.

“You too,” I say, slowly and cautiously backing up the truck, leaving, and all the way home beating myself up for being an awkward little shit less than half a decade away from being half a century old and still not having managed to adapt properly to social situations.

I mean, what is wrong with me?

Really, man, I hate being so fucking awkward. If I can’t change it, one would have expected me to just have embraced it by now.

In retrospect, I think I might have known who she was. Maybe.

In any case, in the end, the awkward reaction was what it was: pathetic.

Far more within the realm of my control, though: I really, really do need to clean that window already.

Honestly, it’s fucking gross.

The deeper issue would seem to require deep-seated psychological reconditioning, sure, but the other? A roll of paper towels and some goddamn Windex.

I have those ingredients, in the very least. I can do that.

So first thing tomorrow…

Leave a comment